Adding Texture to Leather Hard Clay

This year, I’m having my students make little planters. I have been telling my students that they are my seeds it is my job to nurture them and make sure they can grow into the wonderful adults they will become. I also told them that these pots will be a reminder of how I want to care for each and every one of them while they are in my class.

So far, we have taken a day to wedge clay and go over clean up expectations for the unit.  On the second day, we learned how to roll a coil and turn it into the base of the pot. On the third day, we made one more coil and then I showed how to add it onto the base. On the fourth and fifth days well built the pots even higher.  Then, we let the pots sit in the bag and turn leather hard.

On the sixth day, we added texture to the pot and put a drainage hole in the bottom.

After the texture has been applied, use a marker lid to make the drainage hole.  Press the lid from the inside of the pot and downward.  You may need to slowly twist the lid as you go.  Lift the pot off the table slightly so the lid has room to come out the bottom.  If the bottom gets rounded or a bur is created, simply tap the pot on a level table until the pot is flat again.

Leave a Reply

